Balanced Melting Pot

Gender (in)Equality

In Culture, Parenting, Questions, Traditions on November 3, 2008 at 3:03 pm

This topic may go beyond culture, but it is nonetheless an issue. I think from culture to culture you will see varying degrees of what is considered appropriate for men and what is appropriate for women. Whatever it may be, I think the notion of gender roles and/or biases begin in the home.

Traditionally, Haitian culture is very much like other patriarchal societies where a woman’s role is to basically take care of everything within the home and the man is the breadwinner. While similar to other cultures where the cost of living has required that both enter the workforce, the household duties still tend to fall on the shoulders of the woman.

Now, anyone who knows me knows that I completely rebel against this idea, but I can respect those who choose to observe it. However, I think it’s important for my children to be exposed to situations, especially in the home, where all duties are shared. Unlike race, I think that we still have a long way to go in terms of changing our perception of what boys and girls should and shouldn’t do (i.e. toys). So, I tend to be very vigilant of any inclination that I handle certain chores because I am Mommy.

So, the question of the week is: How are gender roles divided in your culture? Is it very different from American culture? Are you teaching your children these same norms? If not, how do you keep them from being passed down?

N.B. I do not claim to be the authority on all things Haitian, so if you have a different view of gender roles within the culture, feel free to share 🙂 .

Subscribe in a reader

Subscribe to Balanced Melting Pot by Email

free hit counters

Leave a Reply

