Balanced Melting Pot

A day of reflection…

In Culture, Questions, Thoughts on January 20, 2009 at 1:58 pm

As we watched the son of an immigrant become the United States’ 44th President, I think back to all the difficult situations that we, or our parents, have had to overcome.

For all those times people assumed that I was a refugee (because all immigrants are), grew up in slums (again, because all immigrants did), was a single parent (since all black women are) or that I was an anomaly because I spoke English clearly – I was only pushed me to keep striving to be the person my parents worked for me to be; one who was not limited by ethnicity or gender.

In recognition that my struggles are much fewer than those of my parents, I also hope that those of my children will be greatly diminished; if not nonexistent.

What are some difficult situations that you made you stronger as a person?

 

Subscribe in a reader

Subscribe to Balanced Melting Pot by Email

free hit counters

  1. When HIV/AIDS broke out, we were learning about it in Sex Ed class. At that time, I was in the 6th grade and had been in the States for two years. A student raised his hand and asked, “Where does AIDS come from?” The Jesuit priest who taught the class said, “Haitians.” Even now, the memory stings, but I’ve long since learned that people in authority don’t often transmit correct information. I’ve also learned to be me, and not to represent my culture/race….A lesson a long time in the making. Go President Obama!

Leave a Reply

